

The Susie Blue Buchanan Award Nomination

The Women in the Profession Section of The Mississippi Bar established the Susie Blue Buchanan Award to recognize and celebrate the practice of law in Mississippi. The Award will honor annually a woman lawyer who has achieved professional excellence in her field and advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession.

The award is presented annually to a living woman meeting the following criteria:

- The individual achieved professional excellence in her field **AND** also influenced other women to pursue legal careers, **OR**
- Opened doors for women lawyers in a variety of job settings that historically were closed to them, **OR**
- Advanced opportunities for women within a practice area or segment of the profession.

Nominations shall be reviewed by the Susie Blue Buchanan Subcommittee of the Women in the Profession (WIP) Section of The Mississippi Bar. The Subcommittee will select and contact the award recipient. The Susie Blue Buchanan Award will be presented at the 24th Annual Price-Prather Luncheon of the Women in the Profession Section at The Mississippi Bar Convention in Sandestin, Florida.

Nominations for Susie Blue Buchanan Award DUE BY MARCH 3, 2025

Nominee:
Nominee's Business Address:
Nominee's Phone: Nominee's Email:
Nominator's Name & Email:
Reason nominee should be selected for the award:

Mail to: The Mississippi Bar • Post Office Box 2168 • Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2168 • or submit by email to <u>ccreasey@msbar.org</u>

PAST RECIPIENTS OF THE SUSIE BLUE BUCHANAN AWARD

1999 - Clare Sekul Hornsby 2000 - Mary Libby Payne 2001 - Carol C. West 2002 - Patricia W. Bennett 2003 - Evelyn Gandy 2004 - Constance Slaughter-Harvey 2005 - Lenore Loving Prather 2006 - Joy Lambert Phillips 2007 - Kay B. Cobb 2008 - Carolyn Ellis Staton 2009 - Deborah H. Bell 2010 - Judge Sharion Aycock 2011 - Lydia M. Quarles 2012 - Justice Ann Lamar 2013 - Nina Stubblefield Tollison 2014 - Judge Jacqueline Mask 2015 - Karen Sawyer 2016 - Judge Denise Owens 2017 - Lynn Fitch 2018 - Justice Dawn Beam 2019 - Chief Judge Donna Barnes 2020 - Judge Linda Anderson 2021 – Rebecca Lee Wiggs 2022 – Margaret Oertling Cupples 2023 – Judge Debra M. Brown 2024 - Mary Ann Strong Connell